REFLECTIONS ON EXPRESSING YOUR VISION

My tutor suggested I write some reflections on my journey through the Expressing your Vision course.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started the course.  At the point I enrolled I was working in a team where I usually had time to have lunch and to arrive home on time so felt I would have plenty of time to devote to the course.  Unfortunately I had to change team and work has been more intense with a lot of preparation of evidence for court.  This has meant I’ve taken longer than I had hoped for the course and missed some deadlines.  In some ways though this slowing down of the process has meant I’ve learnt to take more time to think about what I am doing and hoping to achieve.

I came to the course with a reasonable technical knowledge of the various settings on my camera having undertaken a basic online course last year and having had some individual tuition from a photographer friend.  The course has re-inforced these skills but also made me plan ahead about what kind of photography I am going to undertake for each exercise or assignment – what lenses will I need and do I need to carry the tripod (the answer was usually yes to this latter question).

I have experimented with a number of different types of photography during the course – studio, street, wildlife and landscape to name but a few.  I have begun to think about what I want each image to portray and to tell a story or create a theme through the assignments.  I have become slightly more comfortable about including people in my images – I understand that this can give ‘punctum’ or context to the vision I have in my head.

At this stage I believe I am still developing my own style of photography and need to enhance further my creativity.  I sometimes need to create the space to think and plan.

I have used Photoshop and Lightroom to improve my images but still have a lot to learn about these editing programs.

I have read about a number of different photographers – some I already had some knowledge of and others who were new to me.  Looking and reading about their work has made me consider what it is about a particular image that makes it stand out from all the others – in an age where we are bombarded with digital imagery.  I have reflected on the psychology of photography or as Terry Barrett put it the various types of context for each image.

I am hoping to do some re-working following my tutor’s suggestions for the final assessment but am looking forward to the challenges of Context and Narrative.

Leave a Reply

